nomadhair.blogg.se

Apple g5 case mod
Apple g5 case mod





apple g5 case mod
  1. Apple g5 case mod full#
  2. Apple g5 case mod mods#

I decided early on that I was going to use the original G5 PSU housing. Lets take a break from the case for a bit. Test fit in shell for any distortion and tension points. With the help of a few washers taped together for a mold and some JB weld I fixed that.

Apple g5 case mod mods#

I also countersunk the holes to give, as before a near seamless finish.Īs many of you who have used the Mountain mods Mobo tray know, there are gaps in the corners that still show through when joined together.

apple g5 case mod

I filled the majority of the screw holes with epoxy and sanded the flat, all but the four vertical holes that stabilize the motherboard tray to the back of the case. I ended up using JB Weld Epoxy, best stuff on the market! No complaints here.Ģ Coats of JB Weld and lots of sanding later(did I mention, by hand?).Īs you can see, the screws look pretty ugly, and not seamless, like many apple designs. After applying and letting dry I removed the tape and about half of the epoxy 'welds' came with it. I figured 'their TV ads look good, lets give em a shot'. First round I tried to use Gorilla Glue Epoxy. Only friction holding the Mountain mods part in.

apple g5 case mod

I took my time and organized all of the parts, screws an all so that reassembly would be a bit less tedious. (my apologies for the poor image quality, most pictures were taken on an iPhone 4 or 5) So what is the first thing you do when you get a G5, you ask? Tear it apart of course! I believe I bought the case back in October of last year. I want to give back as much as I can, after all, we all start somewhere. If you have any questions, feel free to ask, I will try and keep up in a timely manner. 95% of cuts were made with a hacksaw blade and cleaned up with low grit sandpaper(no fancy shop here). This whole project was done with only a handful of tools, the most 'high-tech' of which was a Harbor freight dremel. I ended up deciding to go with a metallic black and mid and brushed aluminum wrap and door.

Apple g5 case mod full#

When starting out I wanted to keep the beauty of Apples brushed aluminum, as well as incorporate a Full ATX, seamlessly. It was inspired by many in the G5 modding community, both on Bit-tech as well as Tonymacx86. I felt almost obligated to post the project to help other fellow moders as well as give credit where it is due. The project is still not finished but it has been put on hiatus for the time being as I have a lot going on. Rotten Apple is a project that I have been working on, part time, for just about a year now.







Apple g5 case mod